iPad is the computer for rest of the world

January 28, 2010

Most of the industry has been underwhelmed with the iPad launch. I for one, actually think this is a great device. It may not be for us, techies, but for rest of the world, it is going to be a great device.

This is a device I can hand it my grand father and he won’t have much trouble using it. Compare this to handing him a laptop and training him about how an OS works, what a drive is, what a file system is, why he needs an anti-virus software etc. Ease of use is the key here. Infact, we have seen this with iPhone already. Every day I see many 2-3 year old having absolutely no problem using the device. That makes a HUGE difference.

In a country like India, there are over 500 million mobile phones. But there are less than 15 Million computers (connected to the internet). Why is this the case? One of the reason is, PCs are complicated to use/learn for non-techies. I think this device can address a broader market as it hides the details from the user.

Ofcourse, mobility is a another huge factor here. India has less than 40Million landlines compared to 500Million mobile phones. Morgan Stanley report on mobile internet says mobile internet will cross desktop internet usage very soon. It is through devices like this we will see this happening and it is through devices like these the internet will reach the masses worldwide.

Sure, for techies, it can be yet another device between phone and a laptop solving a specific need, but for the rest of the world, I think this will be a great device and mostly their primary computer. Yes, there are some missing features initially, but they’ll be addressed and that is the evolution of any product. We have seen this with the iPhone and I am sure we will see this with iPad.

Overall, I see this as a first major step in the evolution of mobile computing. We will see a flurry of devices in coming months and years. But end of the day, it is all about software. In this case, iPad has the software dumbed down to the masses in a great form factor and in my view, it’ll be a winner.

6 Responses to “iPad is the computer for rest of the world”

  1. Ping Frasher Says:

    Alot of bloggers are not really pleased with the new iPad.There was 2 much hoopla over it and lots of people got disapointed.Thing is, I for one see lots of the cool potential of this device. Third-party soft for playing tunes, games, newspapers and magazines and books, all kinds of neat stuff, but IMHO they failed to sell it properly (aside from the books). It feels kinda unfinished


  2. Apple’s a company I’ve enjoyed for some time, they produce technology that is visually beautiful while working like a champ. That can’t be said about alot of companies, it’s usually one or the other. Tech businesses don’t usually take aesthetics seriously like Apple. With that said I’ve got to say that I’m anxious about the new Tablet. One thing I question though, is it too soon? I think that this product may be ahead of its time. What do you think?


  3. […] buy this argument, but regarding iPad being closed, I have to disagree. As I talked earlier, iPad is a gadget for non-techies. People who have been scared about the complexity of computers will be able to use it. So it is […]

  4. Raju Vegesna Says:

    Hedwig,

    I actually think this is right about time for a gadget like this to step in. Will it be successful in its first iteration? Probably not. I think it’ll take couple of years for it to sink in, for people to understand the uses of this device etc. Meanwhile, Apple should also strike some deals with the content providers and make the device more compelling.

    I’d liken this release to the first iPod release. Just the MP3 player with no deals with music companies. First version could be decently successful, but eventual versions, I think, could be wildly successful.


  5. […] I’d buy this argument, but regarding iPad being closed, I have to disagree. As I talked earlier, iPad is a gadget for non-techies. People who have been scared about the complexity of computers will be able to use it. So it is […]

  6. Juliet Nodd Says:

    OMG! This one reject at work was pretty much sharing with me this same specific point. Nonetheless, considering that I am about to quit this crap-lousy company, I suppose I will provide you with a connect. Not too many folks know about this key fact, but you will usually receive a $1,000 gift card for 100 % free at the present time, courtesy of the lazy regional director. These people will certainly do nearly anything for extra business!!


Leave a Reply

